bare cupboard bonanza

I’d like to take a moment to pat myself on the back for being sort of awesome.

Last night was one of those nights where you open and close your cupboards, peer indefinitely into the refrigerator, stare at your shelf of cookbooks, wondering if one of them holds the key and generally stand around in your kitchen befuddled by what you’re supposed to do with a jar of pickled cherries and a box of flax-seed.

Dinner was totally about to be prepared by the Italian man down the street when, suddenly, I remembered that I had a bag of scallops in the freezer. I know what some of you are thinking: “Frozen seafood!? Blech.” Well, you’re wrong. Frozen seafood is one of the best bargains in the supermarket & not everyone has access to a great fish monger. If you are buying frozen though, look at the ingredients list–some frozen fish might be injected with sodium; if so, avoid it. Also try to buy vacuum packed and/or flash frozen for the best quality. To thaw shrimp or scallops, I like to fill a bowl with cold water and sea salt, then let the shellfish hang out in the brine, in the fridge.

Half a bag of baby carrots served as inspiration for a side dish: Carrot Latkes. I grated, salted and drained the carrots, then squeezed out, but reserved, all the liquid. Mixed with an egg, allspice, ginger, parsley and slivered almonds, I then pan seared the patties in a bit of coconut oil. Following the latkes, the scallops were seared in the same pan.

Thinking on my feet, I decided to make a jus out of the pan drippings, so in went the reserved carrot juice, a bit of water, a splash of sherry vinegar and a dab of honey.Finished with the liquid that had collected in my scallop serving plate and it was seriously tasty. Seriously.

A dollop of jarred arugula pesto on each scallop, and you would never know I had nothing to eat in my house. Accolades may be sent straight to my comments section.

One comment

Leave a Reply

