by the whey

Remember that yogurt I made?

From all the things I’ve read, I’ve deduced that the whey byproduct of making yogurt is really a product unto itself. Most simply it seems that whey can be used in any application as a substitute for buttermilk. I decided to test this theory by making something with which my waistline is all too familiar: cornbread.

Here, I need to take a minute for a very important message: If you are making cornbread with yellow cornmeal, then you are doing it wrong. If you are making cornbread with more than 2T of sugar, then you are making dessert. Please, please only prepare cornbread with white cornmeal and with an appropriate amount of sweetener. Thank you.

served with asparagus sauteed with creminis and minced country ham and sliced tomatoes

Ok, so here’s the confession. The whey gave my cornbread a lift and a tenderness heretofore unseen by my noble cast iron. Dare I say it was the best cornbread I’ve ever had? No, b/c I’ve had a freaking lot of cornbread–far too much to recount every best; but it sure was damn good.

So now, I never have to buy yogurt again & quite possibly, I’ll not have to buy buttermilk either. Color me stoked!

 
3 comments

Leave a Reply

