jarred

I effing love picnics.

Beautiful weather and delicious food equal a total win. A picnic doesn’t always have to be leisurely; however, to be satisfying. I’ve had to see a lot of theatre lately & with that comes dining out, so I was uber thankful when today’s forecast called for a balmy afternoon.

Since dining out in New York City can get expensive, I jumped at the chance to make a quick meal:

I layered ground turkey, sautéed with onions, garlic, cinnamon, coriander, cumin and chili powder, topped it with pink kidney beans sautéed with corn, garlic, coriander, fresh mint and fresh parsley, topped that with hot salsa and finished it with some minced celery. Plus, because my Southern heritage demands it so, I always have a few mason jars lying about. So incredibly simple (and my dining partner had no idea it was made from leftovers!).

I also sliced some tortillas and toasted them under the broiler for a crispy accoutrement.

Truly. Picnics. Are. Awesome.

      

Leave a Reply

